The Grand Canyon, Arizona: Days 11-14

Hey ya’ll!! Sorry for the late update but it is truly harder and more time consuming than I thought it would be to keep this blog updated while traveling. We also have been very busy moving from town to town, but have been having a blast. I have internet access tonight so will be sure to update the blog as much as I can tonight!! Thanks for staying tuned!

After Telluride Jason and I made our way to Arizona to see the Grand Canyon!! I had never been there before so I was quite excited. Upon arrival we set up camp about ten miles south of the park at ten x campground, it was a nice peaceful camp. We stayed there for the first two nights. On the third day we hiked down the bottom of the canyon. We hiked 7 miles before making it all the way to the bottom, but we started early, around 5 a.m., to beat as much of the heat as possible. We made it down around 9 a.m. and sat in the creek that ran through the campground for the majority of the day, due to the insane heat. By midday it reached about 120°, for us Midwesterners that it a hot day!! We got a decent night’s rest and woke again the next morning bright and early to head out on the trail by 2:30 a.m. This day we hiked up the canyon 9.5 miles and made it to the top in about seven hours. What an experience, exhausting, but absolutely beautiful!! I definitely would not have felt like I experienced the entire depth of beauty the Grand Canyon has to offer if we wouldn’t have hike down into the canyon, so I am happy that we did. The next night it was time for a good night’s rest in a hotel, and I think we deserved it!!

(click on the photo for a larger view of the image)

Leave a comment