a winona whimsy.

Yesterday we had a large amount of snow fall upon Winona. When I woke up to go to work at 5:20 a.m. and stepped outside there were trees touching the sidewalks because the snow was so heavy, I felt like I was in a whimsical dream, kind of like alice in wonderland.

In the afternoon I had a couple spare hours to walk Norah and take some pictures. I was amazed at all the beautiful trees. It’s like the trees were magnetized and the snow clung to them trying to hold something onto them. Pure bliss.

There were times where I would look up or into the bluffs and just see a white abyss. I was absolutely amazed at the beauty that the snow fall had brought. I had seen snow. Hundreds of times. But for some reason this snow was different. It was in the middle of march. So I should have been angry at the snow gods for dropping it on us. But I wasn’t. I was so entranced by the beauty that it calmed me to walk around in it, I wasn’t even bothered by my boots acting as a sponge, soaking my feet. I just walked and walked, photograph after photograph, until I had to snap out of it and return to the reality of academia.

But through my three hour class my mind was still caught in the whimsy of winona.

photos for viewing pleasure:

Leave a comment